The Yurt

My partner and I needed a weekend escape from the city, and the yurt was perfect. The gas fireplace kept it cozy in the February chill, and the kitchen was well-stocked for cooking. It’s quiet, and peaceful. Beth and Tim also had a pair of snowshoes that we used to walk around on their property one afternoon. We’re already thinking about when we’ll have an opportunity to go back. – Beatrice

February 2014

We had a great stay at Tim & Beth’s yurt. It was cold and rainy but the yurt was perfectly warm and dry. It’s bigger than we thought and Tim gave us great recommendations for places to eat. If you plan to go in and out at night, I’d recommend a flashlight. The stars are incredible. We’d love to come back and use the hot tub and fire pit when it’s nicer out. – Natalie

December 2014

Our stay at the Yurt was lovely. We only met Beth but she kindly helped us carry our bags to the Yurt and informed us of the amenities available on the property as well as places to visit in the area. The Yurt was very warm, private and charmingly decorated. It was well stocked beyond what we were expecting with dishes, cutlery, linens, etc. Bring some toiletries and groceries and you’ll be set! We chose not to partake in any of the group meals this time around as it was a romantic weekend but we would definitely give it a try next time around. The farm is only a short drive from Minnewaska State park and Mohonk Reserve- both great, dog-friendly hiking spots- as well as a number of other trails, waterfalls etc. There’s no end of outdoor adventuring even in the Winter but the Yurt is so cozy you may not want to leave. We brought our two dogs for an extra fee of $10 per dog per night- much better than most hotels. All in all we had a wonderful time and willy very likely return in the future. – Tina

December 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Beth and Tim’s yurt. The yurt itself was amazing. Not glamorous but way more than one would imagine when hearing the word “yurt”, complete with kitchen, gas stove, and bathroom with tub and hot shower!. The bedroom and loft area provided plenty of room and privacy for us to sleep with our two young kids (4 and 2). Even though it rained the whole time we were there we had a lovely and relaxing time playing cards and doing art activities inside by the fire. And when we tired of that we explored the farm and visited the animals. Tim was a gracious host, sharing some of the history of the farm and inviting us into his home to show us his latest projects, even giving stuffed animals to our kids to take home. We really enjoyed our stay and hope to return. – Angela

December 2013

Beth and Tim are both lovely people! We had a great time celebrating our anniversary in their yurt. After driving through a snow storm to get there, the yurt was cozy and the cross country skiing on the property was a lot of fun. It definitely is like fancy camping. Highly recommended for a secluded get away for two or a group adventure. – Brooke

December 2013

We had an awesome time over the Thanksgiving holiday at the yurt! Beth and Tim were the best hosts ever- very welcoming and accommodating! The yurt was everything I had hoped for and more. Lots of room for three of us with great access to hiking by the surrounding area, and a beautiful creek. Will definitely be planning a return visit soon! – Cynthia

November 2013

My fiancĂ© and I absolutely loved the yurt! It was just like glamorous camping (glamping) – so warm, friendly, and practical. Beth and Tim were great hosts and were very accommodating. I even proposed to my fiancĂ© fireside over s’mores right outside the house. – Isaac

November 2013

I stayed at the yurt with four of my girlfriends for a girls fall getaway to see the fall foliage. We were so pleased with the yurt and the entire grounds, we highly recommend it to anyone looking to relax in the great outdoors. The yurt was comfortable and well-heated, always at a cozy 70 degrees. The hot water came on right away and we never ran out of hot water, even with 5 people showering. The kitchen was perfect for our needs, with a working oven and stove top, we were able to make eggs and bacon for breakfast, and cookies for dessert. The sleeping arrangements were perfect for us, we even could have fit one more adult comfortably. We had a make your own pizza dinner up at “the big house” with Beth and Tim and some of their other guests, as well as with their beautiful and sweet dogs, Mole, Rio, and Kuma. We also enjoyed the hot tub up at the big house as the sun set, which was well kept, clean, and private. There was wildlife everywhere, as the horses were allowed to roam freely around the yurt, and there were deer, kittens, dogs and chickens on the property. We even got to visit their new pig! Beth and Tim made us feel welcome in their home, and were attentive to our needs at all times. Tim helped us find a great spot to hike to a nearby waterfall, and told us how to get into town to find the wine shop and grocer. They also left us alone when we didn’t need them, so we had a lot of privacy. We all felt like we will want to return again some day, and possibly bring our husbands and family members if they are lucky! And we all hope to see Tim and Beth again someday, as they were warm and gracious hosts. – Ileana

November 2013

Beth and Tim’s farm and yurt are magical! The air was crisp and clean and it’s so peaceful I could hear myself think for a change. Quite a difference from our typical hurried NYC life.

It was a great base to explore the area. We took advantage of its proximity to the Mohonk Preserve to do some hiking and rock scrambles. It was only a 10 or 15 minute drive from the farm to the Trailhead.

The yurt itself is cozy with all the amenities of home. We loved seeing the horses graze around us in the evening and sat by the bonfire at night. Two enthusiastic thumbs up and I hope to return one day soon. – Megan

September 2013

The yurt and farm were a wonderful backdrop to a team hiking weekend! The hot tub was bubbly and hot, campfire roasted marshmallows nicely, and we enjoyed the critters on the farm (kittens, horses, chickens, dogs). Tim and Beth were excellent hosts; very attentive. It is clear they care about the land and people! – Autumn

August 2013

Peaceful, comfortable and a wonderful break from it all. The yurt is even better than the pictures show! – Christine

August 2013

We had a great time in the yurt. It comfortably slept 5 people and had all of the amenities of an apartment with the feel of camping. We would wake up in the morning to the sounds of the horses grazing nearby and witnessed firefly shows at night. It’s nearby Mohonk Preseve and Minnewaska State Park which has great hiking and about a 25min drive from New Paltz where we grabbed dinner one night. All in all a great experience and I would definitely return! – Rebecca

July 2013

This is a great place to sit back and relax, and Beth was the perfect hostess. We had a wonderful pizza party and great conversation around the fire to add a fantastic ending to a peaceful day on the farm. – Karen

May 2013

In one word, Beth and Tim are amazing! They were very accomodating to my friend and I and our 3 little kids. We arrived way past dark and Tim helped us get all our luggage to the yurt. The yurt is awsome and provided for a very relaxing and unique getaway. The kids absolutley loved it, and there is plenty of room for 2 adults and 3 little kids. We spent hours along the stream throwing rocks in and making rock towers (and even taking some rocks home to paint). They loved the horses and playing with the dogs (my son said Kuma is now his best friend). Of course all three kids loved the hot tub. We are from the Boston area and came up during the Marathon chaos, Beth offered to let us stay another night so we wouldn’t have to drive back (although we did have to decline the offer). There was a fire pit and we were bummed that we forgot fire wood but there was plenty piled next to the pit. There was also a little club house that the kids really enjoyed exploring. Overall I highly recommend booking a getway at Beth and Tims yurt!!!!!!!!! I hope to go back and visit them again. – Anjala

April 2013

I visited the yurt along with three friends to celebrate my birthday. We all were delighted with the space (including the friend who had stayed in a yurt in Mongolia) and found it both beautiful and comfortable. Tim and Beth were great hosts and we would all love to come back for another visit! – Christine

February 2013

Great experience at the yurt! Exactly as imagined! Great scenic setting with horses and rivers running through, night time star gazing, hot tubbing under full moon. Just a fabulous getaway! My only fear about the yurt was that it might be cold in the dead of winter and it was nicely warm. We made it our own for the days and nights we spent. Hosts Beth and Tim were very friendly and helpful. I would do it again and I will! – Elisa

December 2012

We couldn’t have asked for better hosts. Beth and Tim were super friendly, offered us excellent recommendations, and made us feel right at home. We were both blown away by the yurt. It is simply amazing. Clean and cozy, and best of all, eco-friendly, we had a fantastic weekend with our dogs on their beautiful farm.Close to countless farmers markets, downtown New Paltz, and tons of hiking/canoeing options, I would highly recommend this unique weekend getaway to anyone who wants to escape the city! – Jessica

August 2012

We had a fantastic time. The place was secluded, quiet and romantic. And despite being a yurt, was surprisingly luxurious. Grilling, toasting marshmallows by the firepit, or just luxuriating on the deck – we really enjoyed it.

Also worth noting, that despite it being 80-90F outside in the day, inside the yurt in the evenings (60F outside) was nice and cool. – Philip

July 2012

We had an amazing time staying at the yurt! It was so peaceful and totally secluded in the middle of a field, yet had all of the luxuries promised – hot water, lights, even a TV. We had a great time exploring the farm, hiking nearby, and sitting on the porch of the yurt seeing the stars. Beth & Tim were very sweet and responsive during booking. I will definitely stay there again if I’m in the area. – Lila

July 2012

We had an amazing weekend! the yurt was beautiful & so cozy…we cooked burgers on the deck the night we got there, followed by a dip in the hot tub (where tim brought us out a couple of pina coladas!). my dog had acres to run around on, and my daughter couldn’t get enough of the horses and chicks! thanks guys, it was a great time and we hope to be able to stay again sometime. – Mando

April 2012

Beth and Tim have created a perfect peaceful retreat. My friend and I drove up from Brooklyn for a few days of rest and relaxation, and were thrilled with the yurt. It’s even better than we’d hoped–great shower, a completely functional kitchen, and a serene, lovely feeling throughout. We didn’t get around to experiencing the hot tub, but really enjoyed sitting out on the deck under the stars, walking the beautiful property, and taking day trips to the Mohonk Preserve and New Paltz. I’m definitely planning to return soon… – Deborah

April 2012